CTU proposes 5 candidates for longer school day panel

September 15, 2011

Union President Karen Lewis says she won't serve on the committee.

But her union nominated Jitu Brown, an organizer with the Kenwood Oakwood Community Organization; Julie Woestehoff, director of Parents United for Responsible Education; Pam Touras, a teacher at McPherson School; Adjora Stevens, a teacher at Goldblatt School; and Valerie Collins, a teacher at Simeon High School.

The union sent the names to the schools chief executive officer, Jean-Claude Brizard.

The union and the public schools are battling over whether to add 90 minutes to the school day. Nine schools have agreed to extend their day despite the union's objections.

Lewis is the guest on this week's Newsviews which you can watch on ABC 7 News Sunday morning at 8:00am.

Copyright © 2022 WLS-TV. All Rights Reserved.