Last day to file for 2nd Congressional District special election

January 7, 2013 3:30:40 PM PST
Monday is the last day major party candidates can file for the February 26th special election to replace former Congressman Jesse Jackson Jr. in the 2nd Congressional District.

The deadline to file for Republicans and Democrats is 5 p.m. Monday.

Jackson resigned in November after facing health issues and a campaign finance investigation.

The district includes parts of Chicago's South Side and suburbs through Will and Kankakee counties.

There are 22 candidates are hoping to run in the special election to replace former Congressman Jesse Jackson Jr.

Ernest Fenton is a radio show host, a self-proclaimed social justice lawyer and now a candidate for the open Congressional seat.

"I'm going to walk for 56 days," Fenton said. "I look forward to touching and talking to people and it doesn't cost anything to walk."

Other candidates said it will take money and at the very least name recognition to get noticed.

Robin Kelly's campaign announced Monday that it has raised over $200,000 from individual supporters during the month of September.

Debbie Halvorson likes to remind voters that four years ago, U.S. Rep. Mike Quigley won the Fifth Congressional District special election by spending one tenth of what the other candidates spent.

Halvorson, a former congresswoman and state senator, is relying on her experience to get elected in a majority African-American district.

Candidate Charles Rayburn used the free air waves Monday not to talk about what he would do if he is elected congress but his desire to have Second Congressional District presidential inaugural tickets distributed to those who are running for the seat.

The race is full of Democrats and so far there are a handful of Republicans, including conservative television and radio commentator Lenny McAllister, running.

State GOP Chairman Pat Brady said it's a tough district for Republicans but nothing is "unwinnable" and the Republican Party will do everything it can to support the candidates.

Ballot placement is very important to some of the candidates.

There will be a lottery held Tuesday for the first and last spot on the ballot. Those who qualify for the lottery are the five candidates who filed first and the five candidates who filed last.

The 22 candidates who filed:

  • Pickens, Larry D.
  • Brutus, O. Patrick
  • Halvorson, Deborah "Debbie"
  • Washington, Joyce W.
  • Muhammad, Fatimah N.
  • Wallace, Eric M.
  • Williams, Anthony W.
  • Taylor, Sr., James H.
  • McKinley, Paul
  • Fenton, Ernest B.
  • Reid, Beverly E.
  • McAllister, Lenny
  • Blyth, John
  • Rayburn, Charles
  • Haynes, Gregory
  • Jonathan, Victor
  • Reynolds, Mel "MR"
  • Beale, Anthony A.
  • Harris, Napoleon
  • Hutchinson, Toi W.
  • Kelly, Robin
  • Eagleton, Clifford J.