'Dancing With the Stars' cast for 2014 announced

March 5, 2014 (NEW YORK)

See photos of the Season 18 Cast

ABC said Tuesday that game show host Drew Carey, actor Billy Dee Williams and long distance swimmer Diana Nyad will also be on the show, which begins a new season on March 17.

Other celebrity contestants include former pro hockey player Sean Avery, "Full House" actress Candace Cameron Bure, "Real Housewives of Atlanta" star NeNe Leakes, James Maslow of the TV show and music group Big Time Rush, actress Danica McKellar of "The Wonder Years" and "The West Wing," Paralympic athlete Amy Purdy and pop star Cody Simpson.

Each week, they will leave their comfort zones and endure hours of grueling rehearsals to master technical choreography and entertaining performances. In the end, only one star will rise above the rest to be crowned champion and win the coveted Mirror Ball Trophy.

Also new this year, Erin Andrews joins "Dancing with the Stars" as host alongside Emmy-Award winner Tom Bergeron for its 18th season, which premieres Monday, March 17 at 8 p.m.

No stranger to the ballroom, Andrews competed on the 10th season of the hit reality show, making it all the way to the finals. Known for being a pioneer in sports broadcasting, Andrews' skills from the field are sure to be an asset in hosting a spirited dance competition.

Amber Riley and Derek Hough were crowned the champions of the previous season of "Dancing with the Stars."

The AP and WABC-TV contributed to this report.

Copyright © 2023 WLS-TV. All Rights Reserved.