Costume Designers Guild Awards held ahead of Oscars ceremony

HOLLYWOOD, LOS ANGELES -- Crews rolled out the red carpet in Hollywood Tuesday night ahead of the 2016 Oscars, and several Costume Design Oscar nominees won big at the 18th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards held in nearby Beverly Hills.

Oscar nominees Cate Blanchett and Jennifer Jason Leigh were among the celebrity guests at the award ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

British costumer Sandy Powell is up twice for Best Costume Design. She's nominated for her work in "Cinderella" and for her work in "Carol," which is set in the 1950s.

"It was such a sort of creative time as a transitional period for fashion so it was a really interesting one to research," Powell said.

The legendary costume designer has already won three Oscar awards for her work in "Shakespeare In Love," "The Aviator" and "The Young Victoria."

Powell is up against Paco Delgado, Jacqueline West and Jenny Beavan.

Watch the Oscars on ABC on Feb. 28! Live red carpet coverage begins at 5 p.m. ET | 4 p.m. CT | 2 p.m. PT with "ON THE RED CARPET AT THE OSCARS." Check your local listings.
Copyright © 2020 WLS-TV. All Rights Reserved.