Landmark commission to approve NU proposal

WLS logo
Tuesday, June 3, 2014

EVANSTON, Ill. (WLS) -- Northwestern University's three iconic buildings in Chicago could take another step to becoming city landmarks.

The proposed Northwestern University Chicago Campus District would include the Montgomery Ward building, Wiebolt Hall and Levy Meyer Hall/Gary Law Library. All three were designed by renowed architect James Gamble Rogers and all three were built between 1925 and 1926.

The Landmark Commission is expected to approve Northwestern's proposal tomorrow.

Northwestern says the buildings are important landmarks for the university and Streeterville community.

If approved by the committee, the proposal will go to the full city council.