Five teams announced for Canada Series

Canadian star and 2014-15 rookie of the year Andrew Wiggins will join with the league's Canadian team as part of the 2015 NBA Canada Series, announced Monday.

The series, a collection of preseason games played throughout Canada in October, will include five teams for 2015: the Toronto Raptors, Minnesota Timberwolves, Chicago Bulls, Los Angeles Clippers and Washington Wizards. The four games will be played in Montreal, Ottawa, Vancouver and Winnipeg.

A possible highlight of Wiggins and the Wolves squaring off against the Raptors will be played Oct. 14 at the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa.

The Raptors will play three games, the Timberwolves will appear in two and the other three teams are scheduled for one game each.

"As the country's lone NBA team, we are honoured to again be part of the NBA Canada Series," Masai Ujiri, president and general manager of the Raptors, said in a statement. "The crowds last season in Vancouver and Montreal were enthusiastic and passionate about the NBA. We look forward to the same excitement for the Raptors in those two cities and our nation's capital."

The NBA said there was a record 12 Canadians on team rosters in 2014-15, and Wiggins was the first Canadian-born rookie of the year.

Related Topics:
sportsespnminnesota timberwolveswashington wizardstoronto raptorslos angeles clipperschicago bullsnbacanada seriesandrew wiggins
(Copyright ©2018 ESPN Internet Ventures. All rights reserved.)