Celebrating 30 years of ABC7's morning show!

CHICAGO (WLS) -- ABC7 Eyewitness News celebrated the 30th anniversary of WLS-TV's morning show on Wednesday.

On April 3, 1989, "Eyewitness News This Morning" debuted on ABC7. Roz Varon, Alan Krashesky and Jerry Taft made up the original morning team.

In 1990, Kathy Brock joined the team. She retired in 2018, after 28 years with ABC7. Jerry also retired that year, after 34 years with the station.

EMBED More News Videos

ABC7 Eyewitness News is celebrating Traffic Anchor Roz Varon's 30 years at WLS-TV!

By 1994, Alan, Kathy and Jerry were promoted to later newscasts. Hosea Sanders the morning team that year, along with Tracy Butler. Hosea spent 21 years with the morning show. He now anchors Eyewitness News on The U at 7 p.m.

In 2001, Judy Hsu joined the morning team. She now anchors the 4 p.m. and 6 p.m. newscasts. In 2009, Judy gave birth to her son, Ike, on the Eisenhower Expressway.

EMBED More News Videos

Celebrating 30 years of ABC7's morning show (1 of 11)

The Chicago Theatre is honoring the 30th anniversiary of ABC7's Morning News and Roz Varon.

In 2015, Terrell Brown joined the morning team. In 2016, Tanja Babich joined the show. Tracy and Roz are still part of the morning team today.

ABC7 also celebrated Roz's 30th anniversary on Wednesday. She has been keeping people safe on the roads in the morning since the show's inception. Thank you, Roz!

In honor of her 30 years at ABC7, Mayor Rahm Emanuel has proclaimed Wednesday, "Roz Varon Day."
EMBED More News Videos

Mayor Rahm Emanuel has proclaimed Wednesday as 'Roz Varon Day' in honor of her 30 years at ABC7.

RELATED: 30 years of changes on the CTA
EMBED More News Videos

This is a very special week for us, as our morning show celebrates its 30th anniversary on April 3.

RELATED: 30 years of changes on the Illinois Tollway
EMBED More News Videos

In part two of a four part series, Roz takes a look at the Illinois tollways over the past three decades.

Related topics:
societyabc7 chicago
Copyright © 2022 WLS-TV. All Rights Reserved.