Chicago quarantine: Arizona, North Carolina removed from COVID-19 emergency travel order, South Dakota added

ByABC7 Chicago Digital Team WLS logo
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
COVID-19 Chicago: Dr. Arwady provides update on coronavirus in Chicago
EMBED <>More Videos

CDPH Commissioner Dr. Arwady gives an update on coronavirus in Chicago, including on the city's travel quarantine list.

CHICAGO (WLS) -- Chicago public health officials provided an update to the city's COVID-19 travel quarantine order Tuesday.

Two states, Arizona and North Carolina, have been removed from the quarantine list. Meanwhile, South Dakota has been added.

Last week, Wisconsin and Nebraska were removed from the list, with Iowa and Kansas being re-added.

Chicago Department of Public Health Commissioner Dr. Allison Arwady said states on the travel order are seeing new cases at a rate of greater than 15 per 100,000 per day or higher.

The state of Illinois has now passed the 15 per 100,000 per-day threshold, but travel restrictions will not be put in place for Illinois.

WATCH: Dr. Arwady gives Chicago COVID-19 update

Dr. Allison Arwady gives an update on COVID-19 in Chicago, with Wisconsin removed from emergency quarantine travel order.

Dr. Arwady said Kansas has seen cases go down and could get removed from the list next week.

RELATED: Quarantine Travel States: Illinois launches online COVID-19 hotspot map for travelers

The states and territories currently subject to quarantine are:













-North Dakota


-Puerto Rico

-South Carolina

-South Dakota



Travelers from the states are required to quarantine for 14 days. Essential workers are exempt. However, they are asked to limit activities to work activities and monitor for any symptoms.

Violators can be fined $100 - $500 per day, up to a maximum of $7,000.