Six more universities to offer Chicago Star scholarships

WLS logo
Tuesday, October 6, 2015

CHICAGO (WLS) -- Six more Chicago-area universities have committed to providing scholarships to Chicago Star scholars after they graduate from City Colleges of Chicago, the mayor's office said Tuesday.

Roosevelt University, DePaul University, Illinois Institute of Technology, Loyola University, Governors State and National Louis University join the University of Illinois at Chicago to offer Chicago Star scholars who have completed their time at City Colleges financial support to continue their bachelor's degrees.

The Chicago Star Scholarship is available to high-achieving Chicago Public School students. In its inaugural year it has allowed nearly 1,000 CPS graduates to pursue Associate Degrees and other credentials from City Colleges of Chicago free of charge.

In August, the University of Illinois at Chicago began offering a tuition award of $5,000 over two years towards a four-year degree at UIC for students who transfer with an Associate Degree and a 3.0 GPA. It will be available to 250 Chicago Star scholars each year.

"In order to secure a family-sustaining career in today's economy, a post-secondary credential is needed, and in many cases, that credential is a bachelor's degree," said Chancellor Cheryl Hyman of City Colleges of Chicago. "The Chicago Star Partnership offers our high-achieving high school students a way to earn an associate's and bachelor's degree, saving tens of thousands of dollars along the way."