2 Chicago Cubs take home Gold Glove Awards

WLS logo
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Chicago Cubs' Anthony Rizzo and Jason Heyward (FILE)
images-AP Photo/John Minchillo

CHICAGO (WLS) -- Chicago Cubs first baseman Anthony Rizzo and right fielder Jason Heyward were named National League Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners.

The honors for fielding excellence were announced Tuesday by Rawlings.

According to the team, the last time a Cub won the award was 2012, when second baseman Darwin Barney was honored. Other players who have won the award in recent years include pitcher Greg Maddux and first baseman Derrek Lee in 2005.

The Cubs said this is Heyward's fourth career Gold Glove Award, and his third in a row. He is the third outfielder in franchise history to earn the award, the Cubs said.

Rizzo won his first Gold Glove Award of his career Tuesday night. He became the third Cubs outfielder to earn the award and is also the youngest outfielder in franchise history, the team said.

San Francisco star Buster Posey was picked at catcher in the National League, ending Yadier Molina's eight-year reign with St. Louis. Posey was joined by a pair of Giants teammates, the double-play combination of shortstop Brandon Crawford and second baseman Joe Panik.

Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado won for the fourth consecutive year, and Arizona pitcher Zack Greinke took his third straight Gold Glove. Other winners in the NL were Atlanta center fielder Ender Inciarte and Pittsburgh left fielder Starling Marte.

Young shortstop Francisco Lindor from AL champion Cleveland was a first-time winner, along with Texas first baseman Mitch Moreland, Detroit second baseman Ian Kinsler, New York Yankees left fielder Brett Gardner and Boston right fielder Mookie Betts.

Kansas City catcher Salvador Perez won his fourth Gold Glove in a row, Houston pitcher Dallas Keuchel took his third straight and Tampa Bay center fielder Kevin Kiermaier repeated from last year.

Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre was rewarded for the fifth time overall.

Fans can now vote for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winner in each League on Rawlings.com. The "best of the best" honor will be unveiled at the 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony on Nov. 11.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.