Frank Kaminsky highlights finalists

The John R. Wooden Award presented to the nation's most outstanding college basketball player revealed its five finalists on Monday, three of which are on teams still playing in the NCAA tournament.

Wisconsin Badgers center Frank Kaminsky and Kentucky Wildcats junior forward Willie Cauley-Stein made the cut and will meet on the court during Saturday's national semifinal game.

Center Jahlil Okafor helped power the Duke Blue Devils to the Final Four, leading the team with 17.4 points and 8.6 rebounds.

Notre Dame Fighting Irish guard Jerian Grant, whose team lost in the Elite Eight to Kentucky, and Ohio State Buckeyes guard D'Angelo Russell rounded out the finalists.

Kaminsky, one of the most versatile centers in the nation, led the Badgers with 18.7 points and 8.0 rebounds this season. Cauley-Stein doesn't have huge numbers given the Wildcats depth - he averaged 9.1 points and 6.5 rebounds - but when plays are needed he's made them.

Grant was the key to Notre Dame's high-octane offense that ranked No. 2 in efficiency according to Ken Pomeroy. He averaged 16.5 points and led the ACC with 6.5 assists per game.

Russell, who joined Okafor as the only freshmen on the finalist list, was one of the nation's most prolific scorers. He led the Buckeyes with 19.3 points per game.

The winner will be announced April 10 at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN2 on as part of the inaugural College Basketball Awards Show Presented by Wendy's.

Joining the five finalists on the Wood All-American team were: Wichita State Shockers guard Ron Baker, Virginia Cavaliers guard Malcolm Brogdon, Northern Iowa Panthers forward Seth Tuttle, Gonzaga Bulldogs forward Kyle Wiltjer and Utah Utes guard Delon Wright.

Related Video
Wooden Award Finalists Announced
Wooden Award Finalists Announced
Kentucky's Willie Cauley-Stein, Notre Dame's Jerian Grant, Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky, Duke's Jahlil Okafor and Ohio State's D'Angelo Russell have been named as the finalists for the John R. Wooden Award.

Interesting Array Of Players Among Wooden Finalists
Interesting Array Of Players Among Wooden Finalists
Brad Daugherty breaks down the qualities of the five finalists, including Frank Kaminsky and Jahlil Okafor, for the Wooden Award.

Copyright © 2020 ESPN Internet Ventures. All rights reserved.