Eddie Murphy to receive Mark Twain Prize

WLS logo
Saturday, April 11, 2015
eddie murphy
Eddie Murphy attends the SNL 40th Anniversary Special at Rockefeller Plaza
Photo by Andy Kropa/Invision/AP

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WLS) -- Eddie Murphy is the 2015 recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

He will receive the prestigious award at a star-studded gala in his honor at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 18.

This is the 18th year the Kennedy Center will award the Mark Twain Prize. Past winners include Jay Leno, Carol Burnett, Whoopi Goldberg and Will Farrell.