Quinn approves flood aid for 29 counties

March 26, 2009 11:24:30 AM PDT
Ill. Gov. Pat Quinn has announced that the state is receiving federal assistance related to flooding that took place in 2008.Illinois will get $30 million for the 29 counties affected by floodwaters.

The funds are intended to provide social and health services for individuals and families impacted by severe storms.

"With this funding, thousands of Illinoisans will get needed help to recover from the devastating storms and flooding of last year," said Governor Quinn.

Areas eligible for supplemental funds and eligible time period follow:

January 7 - March 14, 2008
Iroquois and Livingston Counties

June 1 - July 22, 2008
Adams, Calhoun, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Hancock, Henderson, Jasper, Jersey, Lake, Lawrence, Mercer, Rock Island, Whiteside, and Winnebago counties

September 13 - October 5, 2008
Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle, Peoria, Will and Woodford counties