Film critics association to hold awards event

December 16, 2011 5:44:43 AM PST
The Chicago Film Critics Association has announced it will have its first gala awards event since 2001.

Before that, the association had hosted a ceremony every year since 1990.

The red-carpet event will bring Hollywood to Chicago. Some of this year's honorary winners include Shirley MacLaine, Dennis Farina, Jason Segel, James Earl Jones and "The Second City." The awards ceremony will be Saturday, Jan. 7.