SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WLS) -- Illinois motorists could soon get some extra time to renew their license plates if they did not get a notification.
The Illinois House voted unanimously to require a 30-day grace period after a license plate expires if a motorist is not notified of the deadline by mail.
The Senate also voted for the legislation back in May.
The legislation still has to be signed by Governor Bruce Rauner.
Motorists have paid more than $9 million in fines since the state stopped mailing notices because of the budget crisis.
State lawmakers approve grace period for license plate renewals
More TOP STORIES News