Gmail rolls out "Undo Send" feature to all users

FILE - In this Monday, Sept 17, 2012, file photo an unidentified man's shadow reflects on a commercial bus with an advertisement for Google Mail, in Lagos, Nigeria. (AP Photo/Sunday Alamba)

Google is making some change to Gmail that could make everyone's life a little easier.

An option to cancel the delivery of an email within 30 seconds of hitting the send button is now a standard safeguard in Google's Gmail as part of a settings change made this week.

Gmail is calling the feature "undo send." Users can enable it in the settings menu accessed through the upper right hand corner of the Gmail inbox home screen, and choose a time delay between five and 30 seconds.

The "undo send" feature had already been available for the past six years in Google's experimental labs, but that required Gmail users taking extra steps to get it.

Google is now slowly rolling out the feature to all users.

Gmail, started 11 years ago, is the far more popular email service. It now boasts more than 900 million accountholders worldwide, according to statistics that Google released last month.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.
Related Topics:
technologygoogleemailsu.s. & world
(Copyright ©2018 WLS-TV. All Rights Reserved.)