Burris won't be on either Senate ballot

August 3, 2010 (CHICAGO)

A federal judge officially ruled Monday the special election for President Barack Obama's former Senate seat will feature the same candidates who qualified for the general election. They are Democrat Alexi Giannoulias, Republican Mark Kirk and Green Party candidate LeAlan Jones.

Burris will not be part of that vote because he was appointed to the seat.

The special election will be held the same day as the November 2 general election. Voters will choose one senator to serve a six-year term and another to serve the 60 days after the election until the new senators are sworn in in January.

Copyright © 2024 WLS-TV. All Rights Reserved.