Illinois Tornadoes: Gov. Quinn declares 7 counties disaster areas

Gov. Pat Quinn spoke from Washington, Ill, in Tazewell County, which was hit by a tornado on Sunday.
November 18, 2013 3:22:35 PM PST
Gov. Pat Quinn declared seven counties in Illinois disaster areas after tornadoes tore through the state.

Six people were killed, hundreds were injured, and many homes and businesses were flattened on Sunday afternoon. Washington, Ill., in Tazewell County, was hit by an EF-4 tornado, which has wind speeds of 170 mph to 190 mph.

Quinn declared disaster areas in Champaign, Grundy, LaSalle, Massac, Tazewell, Washington and Woodford counties. He arrived in Tazewell County on Monday morning and was expected to tour the damage.

"We want to make sure people are getting the aid they need as quickly as possible. . . with every asset we have," Gov. Quinn said.

Officials are asking people who want to help to stay out of the tornado-damaged areas until "gas lines are off, power is back on." Instead, people are encouraged to reach out to organizations.