'Dancing With the Stars' cast for Season 18 announced

March 4, 214 (NEW YORK)

See photos of the Season 18 Cast

The competition begins with a new batch of 11 celebrities who will brave the dance floor for their first time.

Each week, they will leave their comfort zones and endure hours of grueling rehearsals to master technical choreography and entertaining performances. In the end, only one star will rise above the rest to be crowned champion and win the coveted Mirror Ball Trophy.

The DWTS Season 18 cast is:
"Wonder Years star" Danica McKeller
Singer Cody Simpson
Actor Billy Dee Williams
Swimmer Diana Nyad
"Real Housewife of Atlanta" NeNe Leakes
Singer/actor James Maslow
Ex-hockey player Sean Avery
Comedian Drew Carey
Actress Candace Cameron Bure
Olympian Charlie White
Olympian Meryl Davis
Snowboarder Amy Purdy

Also new this year, Erin Andrews joins "Dancing with the Stars" as host alongside Emmy-Award winner Tom Bergeron for its 18th season, which premieres Monday, March 17 at 8 p.m.

No stranger to the ballroom, Andrews competed on the 10th season of the hit reality show, making it all the way to the finals. Known for being a pioneer in sports broadcasting, Andrews' skills from the field are sure to be an asset in hosting a spirited dance competition.

Amber Riley and Derek Hough were crowned the champions of the previous season of "Dancing with the Stars."

WABC-TV contributed to this report.

Copyright © 2024 WLS-TV. All Rights Reserved.