BBB: Netflix, Pinterest scams

Scammers have found more opportunities to steal personal information from consumers.
March 27, 2014 4:41:24 AM PDT
Scammers have found more opportunities to steal personal information from consumers.

Netflix Subscribers Being Targeted With Phishing Scam, Warns Better Business Bureau

A new phishing scam has surfaced that is targeting Netflix subscribers, according to the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

Users that are targeted will be led to a phony webpage that may resemble the Netflix login page. The Netflix users will enter their account information and the fake website will claim that the user's account has been suspended. A fake customer service number is provided and a "representative" recommends the user download the "Netflix support software," which is remote login software that gives the fake representative full access to the user's computer.

"Netflix has a good reputation and scammers are taking full advantage of that," says Steve J. Bernas, president & CEO of Better Business Bureau serving Chicago and Northern Illinois." Anyone could fall for this scam."

There are three key indicators consumers should look for that show an email involved in this scam is not from Netflix: First, the phone number is not Netflix. Instead, the number belongs to a call center in India. Second, the webpage is a popup. Third, the "representative" wants to login to your computer via remote software.

Here are some tips on how to avoid this scam and others like it:

Never let someone login to your computer remotely. When someone logs in, they can do anything you can do on your computer. They can access anything including personal and financial information.

Do not click links in emails. It is better to type the address in the search bar manually.

If the URL seems odd, do not continue to go to the site. If it is a scam, it will most likely have an unusual URL. It will likely contain a common name but be accompanied by some jumbled letters or numbers.

Always look up the company's phone number on their website. If you need to call a company, look it up on their official website. This can make sure that you are calling a legitimate number.

Pinterest is Latest Target for Social Media Scammers, Says Better Business Bureau

As seen previously with Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, consumers are now being scammed on Pinterest. The Better Business Bureau (BBB) urges consumers to watch out for con artists who pin spammy products and hack into users' accounts.

Here's how the scam works: You get an email from Pinterest, saying that a friend has shared a "pin" (the term Pinterest uses for digital scrapbook image). You open the email and click on the pin, since it seems legitimate. But when you click on the image, you aren't taken to an online article or real business website. Instead, you are taken to a site selling counterfeit products, promoting fraud work from home jobs or telling bogus news stories.

"Pinterest is an easy outlet for scammers to access, just like any social media website," says Steve J. Bernas, president & CEO of Better Business Bureau serving Chicago and Northern Illinois." Consumers need to always keep an eye on their Pinterest accounts by reporting suspicious activity online and checking pins before posting."

Scammers use many techniques to access your Pinterest account. They take advantage of security holes in third party applications that connect to Pinterest (such as those that automatically post to your Twitter) or insert malicious code onto "Pin This" buttons on fraud websites.

Here are ways to keep your Pinterest account secure:

Report the pin. Spot a spam pin? Report it to Pinterest by clicking the flag icon at the bottom of the image.

Change your password. If you suspect someone hacked your account or you used a malicious app, be sure to reset your password. Do this by clicking your name at the top of Pinterest. Then, click Settings. Follow the prompts to create a new, complex password.

Log out of your account. Don't stay logged into Pinterest when you aren't using it.

Watch where you log in. Only log in on Pinterest.com and the official mobile app. Avoid look alike sites that use a domain name like www.pinterest.something.com. These are not affiliated with Pinterest.

Be careful about linking your account to other social media. If scammers get in, they can easily share spam pins on your Twitter and Facebook feeds too.

Check before you pin. Before you repin, take a second to hover on the image and check that destination link corresponds with the info on the pin. Scammers have been replacing the links in popular pins with links to websites housing malware.

Fore more info visit bbb.org


Load Comments