New Ill. lawmakers sworn in

January 12, 2011 2:10:17 PM PST
New members of the Illinois state legislature were sworn in Wednesday in Springfield.

Members of the state House and Senate took their oaths as the 97th Illinois General Assembly began work on the new legislative session.

Democrats still control both chambers, although their majorities have shrunk.

Chicago Democrats John Cullerton and Mike Madigan remain Senate President and House Speaker, respectively.